21.—Legislatures	and	Premiers	of	Saskatchewan	1934-55	and	Ministry	as	at	May	31,	1955
				Legislatures 19	34-551							

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of		
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution		
June 19, 1934 June 8, 1938 June 15, 1944 June 24, 1948 June 11, 1952	8th General Assembly 9th General Assembly 10th General Assembly 11th General Assembly 12th General Assembly	6 5 5	Nov. 15, 1934 Jan. 19, 1939 Oct. 19, 1944 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953			

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1934-55 were: 6th Ministry sworn in July 19, 1934 under the leadership of Hon. J. G. Gardiner; 7th Ministry sworn in Nov. 1, 1935 under the leadership of Hon. W. J. Patterson; 8th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1944 under the leadership of Hon. T. C. Douglas.

<sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at May 31, 1955.

## Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 11, 1952: 42 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 11 Liberals.)

Note .- See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development.  Provincial Treasurer. Attorney General. Minister of Natural Resources, and Minister of Mineral Resources.  Minister of Highways and Transportation. Minister of Education. Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation.	Hon. T. C. Douglas.  Hon. C. M. Fines.  Hon. J. W. Corman.  Hon. J. H. Brockelbank.  Hon. J. T. Douglas.  Hon. W. S. Lloyd.  Hon. J. H. Sturdy.	July July July July July July	10, 10, 10, 10, 10,	1944 1944 1944 1944 1944 1944	July Nov. July July Aug. Apr. July July Aug.	14, 10, 10, 10, 1, 1, 10, 10, 4,	1944 1944 1944 1948 1953 1944
Minister of Municipal Affairs Minister of Labour Minister of Agriculture Minister of Public Works Minister of Public Health Minister of Public Health Provincial Secretary	Hon. I. C. Nollet Hon. J. A. Darling Hon. T. J. Bentley	July Feb. Aug. Nov. Oct.	4, 14, 24,	1944 1945 1948 1949 1952	Aug. Aug. Feb. Aug. Nov. Oct. Oct.	4, 1 26, 1 4, 1 14, 1 24, 1	1948 1948 1948 1949 1952

## Subsection 9.—Alberta

The Government of the Province of Alberta is composed of the Lieutenant-Governor, the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable John J. Bowlen, Lieutenant-Governor at June 30, 1955, was commissioned to office Feb. 1, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 96.

There are 61 members of the Legislative Assembly who are elected for a maximum period of five years.

The salary of the President of the Executive Council is \$11,000 and of a Cabinet Minister \$8,500. A special allowance of \$2,500 is paid to the Leader of the Opposition. The sessional indemnity for each Member of the Legislative Assembly is \$2,400 plus an expense allowance of \$1.200.